Cathy's Voice Now

This has been a very strange week.   Everything has seemed off somehow.  It has also been an emotional week.  I am not now nor have I ever been a crier.  I was the only on in the theater who did not cry during the movie “Out of Africa.”  I don’t remember anything about the movie except that it was long, very long and everyone cried.

Let me qualify that remark about crying.  I was a drunken crier.  When I was a practicing alcoholic, I had two extremes- very happy or very sad.  Very happy meant singing the loudest, dancing like a woman possessed, telling really lame jokes, and being the life of the party.  Very sad meant I would cry and tell you how horrible my life was, how depressing world events were, or isolating from everyone.

I wasn’t allowed to cry as a child.  After being “corrected” for crying…

View original post 472 more words

Leave a Reply

